Home / News / Professors honored by provost with new title

Professors honored by provost with new title

The office of the provost hosted University Professors’ Reception on Wednesday Oct 24. At 3 p.m. in the Overman Student Center Heritage room and welcomed many university faculty and staff to congratulate the recipients. 

The eligibility for this rank is that a professor must have been a professor for at least seven years, is responsible for a major area of instruction, and has made considerable contributions to the university community. 

Recipients this year are Tim Bailey, professor of history, and social sciences, Cheryl Giefer, professor of nursing, Casie Hermansson, professor of English and modern languages, Ananda Jayawardhana, professor of mathematics, and Don Viney, professor of philosophy.  

Bailey has served PSU since August 2000 and specializes in urban planning. 

“Dr. Bailey currently serves on the Quapaw Tribe of Oklahoma Environmental GIS Ad Hoc Committee.  In addition, he has continuously served on the Midwest Quarterly editorial board since 2003.” Lynette Olson, provost and vice president for academic affairs, said. 

Giefer directs the Irene Ransom Bradley School of Nursing. She started at PSU in 1988 and then became a tenure-earning faculty member in August 1990.  She also serves on or has served on a number of university, community, state, and national committees, boards, and councils. 

“Dr. Giefer stays current with trends and issues in health care by attending and presenting at regional, national and international conferences and lectures as well as publishing her creative works at these same levels.  She has also been very effective in seeking and receiving grants, both state and national awards, to help fund their programs and technology needs within our school,” Olson said. 

Hermansson joined PSU in 1997 and became a tenure-earning faculty member in August 1999.  Hermansson has also been the recipient of a Fulbright-University of Turku Scholar Award in Turku, Finland. 

“Dr. Hermansson has collaborated with the Intensive English Program in bringing IEP students in to do a longer term, real world project with her technical/professional writing students in class (on writing for an ESL readership). These students helped redesign the IEP handbook and also the Pitt Pals program handout, which were adopted by IEP.  This experience was beneficial to both the IEP student as well as those in the regular classroom,” Olson said. 

Jayawardhana joined PSU in August 1999 as assistant professor and since has been the recipient of a PSU Summer Teaching Innovation Grant.  He has also served as president of the Pittsburg State Kansas National Educators Association (KNEA). 

“He writes and proctors exams for the annual Math Relays and has served as faculty adviser for the PSU Indian Student Association, which annually hosts the Holi Festival of Color and Diwali Festival of Light.” Olson said. 

Viney has received the honor two times before, in 2004 and in 2011. Viney has been invited to present in France, Spain, and Ireland and is on the editorial board of the Midwest Quarterly. 

“I do believe he is our first faculty member to have received this title three consecutive times.  That, in and of itself, is quite an acknowledgement of his accomplishments and service to Pittsburg State University, the campus, the community, and our students.” Olson said.  


Check Also

Opinion: The Double-edged Sword of Self-promotion 

Himika Akram reporter  Self-promotion is a potent instrument in professional and personal branding that can …

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: