PSU announces 2014 Hall of Fame class

Michael Bauer, Sports Editor

Pittsburg State has announced the 2014 induction class of the intercollegiate Athletics Hall of Fame. Nine members consisting of former athletes will be inducted during the ceremony on campus on Saturday, Oct. 25.
The 2014 class is composed of six men and three women.
This year’s group includes four-time All-America performer Megan (Corby) Haas, who competed in track and field as well as volleyball from 1991-95; All-America pitcher Daryl Cronk, a member of the baseball team’s 1999 MIAA title; All-America quarterback Brian Hutchins from the Gorillas’ 1991 NCAA Division II National Championship squad and a runner-up finish in 1992; All-America quarterback Neal Philpot, who compiled a school record 41 victories while leading the PSU record-breaking offense during a national runner-up finish in 2004; and outside hitter Dina (Wathan) Blevins, who was an All-America and three-time All-Region performer in volleyball from 2000 to 2003.
Former football player Lon Farrell and former track and field athlete David Shrader will be inducted in the Hall of Fame’s “Legacy” category. The Legacy category focuses solely on individuals from the school’s first 50 years to bolster the school’s rich heritage from its first half-century.
Alan and Roberta Whetzel were selected for the Hall of Fame as meritorious achievement inductees. The Whetzels are no strangers to the PSU athletic family, donating the $1.2 million anchor gift on the Weede Building Renovation Project.
Corby was a four-time NCAA-II All-American in the triple jump and was a three-time MIAA individual event champion. She set the PSU record in the triple jump (40-1.25 indoor mark) and was a four-year volleyball letter-winner. She set PSU records for service aces (109), digs (875), and blocks (405) and received her bachelor’s in 1995.
Cronk, who graduated in 2000, set PSU records for career victories at 27 and innings pitched with 258 2/3. He compiled a 27-12 record with a 3.51 ERA in 48 career appearances and was an NCAA-II All-American in 1997.
Philpot graduated in 2005 and was MIAA All-Conference from 2001-04. He was conference Offensive MVP for the 2004 season and set the MIAA record for career total offense with 10,168 yards and career quarterback rushing with 4,337 yards.
Blevins, who played from 2000 to 2003 and graduated in 2004, was a three-time NCAA-II All-Region from 2001-03 and was MIAA All-Conference 2000-03. She ranks second in Division II history in career digs (2,326) and helped the Gorillas to a 26-8 record and the program’s first NCAA Tournament appearance in 2003. Blevins also set eight PSU records: games played (468), career kills (1,814), career attacks (5,477), career service aces (158), career digs (2,326), single-season kills (481), single-season attacks (1,481) and single season digs (671).
Farrell, who graduated in 1952, was a two-year member of the PSU football team, earning CIC All-Conference honors each year as both an offensive guard and a linebacker. As a high school football coach, he compiled a 54-7 record and served several years on the University of Arkansas football coaching staff. He earned his master’s degree from PSU in 1957 and a doctorate degree from Arkansas in 1965.
Shrader was a five-time CIC champion before graduating in 1940 and captured league titles in the discus all four years.
The 2014 hall of fame class will be honored at halftime of PSU’s football game against Nebraska-Kearney on the same day as their induction.

Leave A Comment